Kyle Kinch Talks Tampa House and His Duke Dumont Remix “The Fear” [TRILLVO Interview]

Written by Sina Watson

Earlier this year Duke Dumont debuted his first full-length album featuring some familiar favorites and introducing us to new ones. He finally gave his hit song “Ocean Drive,” a home, while showcasing his musical talents as a producer. Following the success of the album, he released a star studded remix album this month with remixes from house music biggest names such as Purple Disco Machine, Will Clarke, Tensake, and Kyle Kinch

There’s only one word to describe Tampa Bay House producer Kyle Kinch: Groovy. Deep rooted in his Jazz and Disco obsession, Kyle finesses these influences to blur the lines between house, disco, and techno.

Doing what he does best, Kyle flips the original ballad “The Fear,” for a more dancefloor ready tune. With a catchy groovy bassline and hypnotic rhythm, Kyle’s remix is sure to get your body moving.

I had the chance to chat with Kyle about quarantine and getting to remix a track for one of house music’s biggest arts, Duke Dumont.

Hey Kyle hows it hanging? What have you been doing this year to stay sane? Any new hobbies/skills?

I’ve been great. I’ve always been a gamer so my Nintendo Switch has been keeping me company. Also, I’m working on a new project with my album arts. I’ve been framing them and painting the frames with UV & glow in the dark paint. My wall looks crazy now basically lighting up my memories. Painting is super soothing and therapeutic.

What are you most grateful for right now?

I’m grateful for all the opportunities I’ve been given during this time. Believe or not, my career has continued to ramp up even with no gigs. I’ve been working with new artist and labels to consistently release music and doing features for huge publications like Forbes. Honestly, I feel stronger as an artist than I did before lockdown started.

As a former Tampa resident, I’d love to know how living in Tampa/Florida influenced your sound?

Tampa is all about energy. No matter what style of music, there’s always a high energy vibe here. I try to match that energy, but also try to add an emotional aspect to it. When they hear my music, I want people to feel me on multiple levels.

Ya dude I totally get that. I actually saw Duke Dumont for the first time at Beach Bar Labor Day weekend in Tampa. He was one of the first Djs to convert me to House music. What was it like remixing “The Fear”?

You know that feeling when you were meant for something? Like everything you’ve done up to that point prepared you for that moment. When Duke reached out to me I was crazy excited. Literally pacing around my house. After my last lap though, I sat down calm and determined with clear idea of where I was going with this remix.

Can you tell us more about your creative process for this track?

I wanted to capture that 4am warehouse vibe. A gritty driving style beat with dark synths to counter Duke’s version. I wanted to combination of Duke’s elements and mine to create a yin & yang balance within the track. If his was about the fear, I wanted mine to be no fear!

If you could remix another track from Duality which one would you choose and why?

Definitely “The Power”! I see so many possibilities with that vocal and the energy of the track. I would love to get my hands on that one.

2020 has been a big year of music for you: EP, Realm Release, and now your Duke Dumont Remix. Any other surprises in store for the rest of the year?

I just had another remix release on Simma Black. As for the rest of the year, you can expect a new release every month.

You’ve had the chance to release on some incredible house labels (Solotoko, Realm, Holy Mole music), is there a dream label you want to release on?

Defected and Toolroom. I feel like most house artist aspire for those labels, but I always find myself connecting to Defected’s releases spiritually. They’ve been the epitome of house music for a long time. As for Toolroom, Mark Knight was probably the heaviest influence on my music at the beginning. I still rinse his tracks on a daily basis.

Okay final question. What is your favorite Duke Dumont track?

“Won’t Look Back”

Kyle Kinch talent has caught the attention of house music’s heavy hitters Camelphat, Fisher, and Gorgon City, propelling him forward as a rising house star. He has Kyle spread his signature sound across the country playing at iconic venues such as Brooklyn Mirage and sharing the stage with Chris Lake, Kaskade, and Lee Foss.

Be sure to keep your ears on Kyle Kinch for new releases every month. ” His newest track “Wine on Red Kups” featuring Vanilla ACE is out this Friday.

Connect with Kyle Kinch

SoundCloud | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Connect with Duke Dumont

SoundCloud | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Leave a comment